Medical Record Release Fees by State

Copy fees generally cover the time and labor involved with copying. Some states levy a separate fee for "reproduction costs" which cover materials used for copying (i.e. paper, ink, etc.). Some states set copying fees at tiered rates based on number of pages copied.

Reproduction costs refer to materials used for copying, such as paper, ink, wear on machines, etc. These are sometimes calculated separately from "copying fees."

Some state statutes specify allowed charges for postage, shipping, and handling.

Go To State:

Alabama

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $5.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-25 = $1.00/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 26+ = $0.50/page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost of postage and materials
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reproduction fees applied to x-rays and special records.
  • Electronic Records
    • Flat fee not to exceed cost of equivalent paper records.
 

Alaska

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • No
 

Arizona

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes- defined as "a reasonable fee"
 

Arkansas

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $15.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-25 = $0.50/page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • $0.25/ additional page
  • Electronic Records
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reasonable fees for retrieval of hospital, physicians' records, or EMS records if those records are stored off-site.
    • Reasonable fees for narrative medical reports or medical review.
 

California

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages = $0.25/ page
  • Reproduction Costs
    • Labor and supplies
  • Electronic Records
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $0.50/page fee for microfilm.
    • cost of reproduction for x-rays.
 

Colorado

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing
    • $18.53 flat fee (First ten pages or fewer)
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Included in Search Fee
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 11 - 40 : $0.85 per page
    • Pages 41+ : $0.57 per page
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Microfilm : $1.50 per page
 

Connecticut

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages $0.65/page, all inclusive, except x-rays
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Materials cost for x-rays.
 

Delaware

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $25.00 for Worker's Compensation records
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-10 = $2.00/page
    • Pages 11-20 = $1.00/page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 21-60 = $0.90/page
    • Pages 60+ = $0.50/page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reproduction costs for non-photocopiable records, e.g. x-rays, microfilm, etc.
  • Electronic Records
    • Fee rates apply to electronic and paper records.
  • Worker's Compensation
    • Fee rates: Pages 1-20 = $1.25/page
    • Pages 21-60 = $0.90/page
    • Pages 60+ = $0.30/page
 

Florida

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $1.00 for each year of records requested
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages for hospital records may not exceed $1.00/page
    • Physician records pages 1-25= $1.00/page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Physician records pages 25+= $0.50/page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost plus sales tax
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Labor, materials, and supply costs for x-rays and other special records.
  • Electronic Records
    • Non-paper records may not exceed $2.00/page
  • Worker's Compensation
    • Fee rates: $0.50/page
 

Georgia

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • Up to $25.88 for search, retrieval, administrative costs.
    • Certification fee up to $9.70
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-20 = $0.97/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 21-100 = $0.83/ page; Pages 100+= $0.66/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reasonable costs for non-paper records, e.g. x-rays, monitoring strips, microfilm, etc.
  • Worker's Compensation
    • Fee rates: Pages 1-150 = $30
    • $0.20/ additional page
    • $9.50 per copy for radiography copies; sales tax, postage
 

Hawaii

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes- defined as "a reasonable costs incurred by a health care provider in making
 

Idaho

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • No
 

Illinois

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $27.91
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-25 = $01.05/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 26-50 = $0.70/ page
    • Pages 50+ = $0.35/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • No more than $1.74/ page for microfiche or microfilm.
    • Facility or practice may charge for cost of duplicated non-photocopiable materials.
  • Electronic Records
    • Half per page rate of paper records, and includes the cost of storage media. Electronic records will be provided in electronic format when requested.
 

Indiana

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $20.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-10 = $1.00/ page (no charge with labor fee)
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 11-50 = $0.50/ page; Pages 51+ = $0.25/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $10.00 for expedited rate; $20.00 for certified records.
 

Iowa

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes- defined as "a reasonable fee"
  • Worker's Compensation
    • Pages 1-20 = $20.00
    • Pages 21-30 = $20.00 + $1.00/page
    • Pages 31-50 = $30.00+ $1.00/ page
    • Pages 51-100 = $65.00+ $0.50/page
    • Pages 101-200 = $0.25/ page
    • 200+= $90.00 = $0.10/page postage
 

Kansas

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes- defined as "reasonable cost-based fees."
  • Worker's Compensation
    • Pages 1-10 = $16.00
    • Pages 11-50 = $28.00
    • 50+ $28.00 + $0.35/per page
 

Kentucky

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Reproduction Costs
    • Copying fee up to $1.00/ page for second copy of records.
  • Worker's Compensation
    • Copying charges limited to $0.50/ page
 

Louisiana

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $25.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-25= $1.00/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 26-350 = $0.50/ page
    • Pages 351+ = $0.25
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reproduction costs for x-rays and imaging plus $25.00 handling fee for hospitals and $10.00 handling fee for other providers.
  • Electronic Records
    • Same per-page rate as paper records, capped at $100.00 total.
  • Worker's Compensation
    • First copy of records free; additional copies $0.50/page
 

Maine

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Page 1 = $5.00
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 2+ = $.045/ page up to $250.00 for entire treatment record or report
  • Electronic Records
    • Reasonable fees may
 

Maryland

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $22.88
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages = not to exceed $0.76/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Electronic Records
    • Per-page fee is 75% of the per-page fee for paper records, capped at $80.00 total.
 

Massachusetts

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $23.24
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-100 = $0.78
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 101+ = $0.40/ page
 

Michigan

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $24.48
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-20 = $1.22/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 21-50 = $0.61/ page
    • Pages 51+ = $0.24/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Cost of preparing duplicates of non-paper documents
    • additional retrieval costs for records over seven years old and stored off-site.
 

Minnesota

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $17.96
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages = $1.35/ page
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $10 fee plus cost of reproduction for x-rays.
  • Worker's Compensation
    • First copy, $0.75/ page plus notary fees, postage, and sales tax; additional copies add $10.00 retrieval fee.
 

Mississippi

  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-20 = $20
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 21-100 = $1.00/ page
    • Pages 101+ = $0.50/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Up to 10% of page charges for postage
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $15.00 retrieval fee for records stored off-site.
 

Missouri

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $25.52
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages = $0.59/ page
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $23.88 for records stored off-site.
  • Electronic Records
    • Retrieval and per-page fees same as paper records, capped at $111.79
 

Montana

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $15.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages = $0.50/ page
 

Nebraska

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $20.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages $0.50/ page
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reasonable costs for duplicating non-photocopiable records.
 

Nevada

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages = $0.60/ page
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reasonable costs for duplicating non-photocopiable records.
 

New Hampshire

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-30 = $15.00 (flat rate applies if record is less than 30 pages)
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 31+= $0.50/ page
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reasonable costs for duplicating non-photocopiable records.
 

New Jersey

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $10.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Hospital Records: Pages 1-100 = $1.00/ page
    • Clinics and Physicians: Pages 1-100 = $1.00/ page, capped at $100 for full record
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Hospitals: Pages 101+ = $0.25/ page, capped at $200.
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reasonable costs for duplicating non-photocopiable records plus administrative fee of $10 or 10% of the cost of reproduction.
 

New Mexico

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-15 = $30.00
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 16+ = $0.25/ page
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Actual costs for duplicating non-photocopiable records.
 

New York

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages= $0.75/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Actual costs for duplicating non-photocopiable records.
    • No charge for original mammogram films, but postage may apply.
 

North Carolina

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-25 = $0.75/ page ($10.00 minimum)
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 26-100 = $0.50/ page; Pages 100+= $0.25/ page
 

North Dakota

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-25 = $20.00
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 26+ = $0.50/page
  • Electronic Records
    • Pages 1-25 = $30.00
    • Pages 26+ = $0.25/ page
 

Ohio

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $19.58
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-10 $1.29/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 11-50 = $0.66/ page
    • Pages 51+ = $0.27/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $2.18/ page for x-rays, MRI, CAT-Scan on paper or film.
 

Oklahoma

  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $10.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages $0.50/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $5.00/ page for x-rays and other imaging.
  • Electronic Records
    • All pages $0.30/ page, capped at $200, plus delivery fee
 

Oregon

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-10 = $30.00
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 11-50 = $0.50/ page
    • Pages 51+ = $0.25/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $5.00 for records sent within 7 days of request.
    • Additional cost for summary explanation if requested.
    • Additional cost for reproducing x-rays, imaging, and non-written records.
 

Pennsylvania

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $22.48
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-20 = $1.51/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 21-60 = $1.12/ page
    • Pages 60+ = $0.38/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Additional $2.23/ page for microfilm copies.
  • Electronic Records
    • Fee schedule same as paper records.
  • Worker's Compensation
    • $28.48 flat fee for records related to Social Security claims.
 

Rhode Island

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-10 = $2.50/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 11-60 = $0.75/ page
    • Pages 61+ = $0.50/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Actual cost and reasonable fees for non-photocopiable records, capped at $25.00.
  • Electronic Records
    • All pages $0.10/ page, capped at $25.00
  • Worker's Compensation
    • No fee for records retrieved in conjunction with a Worker's Compensation claim.
 

South Carolina

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $25.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-30 = $0.65/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 31+ = $0.50/ page, capped at $200.00.
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost plus sales tax
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Actual cost for reproduction of x-rays.
  • Electronic Records
    • Fees same as paper records, capped at $150.00
 

South Dakota

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • No
 

Tennessee

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Physician Records: Pages 1-5 = $20.00
    • Hospital Records: Pages 1-5 = $18.00
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Physician Records: Pages 6+ = $0.50/ page.
    • Hospital records: Pages 6-50 = $0.85/ page.
    • Pages 51-250 = $0.60/ page.
    • Pages 250+ = $0.35/ page.
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $20.00 certification fee
  • Worker's Compensation
    • $10.00 for pages 1-20 (or fewer)
    • Pages 21+ = $0.25/ page
 

Texas

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Hospital Records: Page 1-10 = $45.79.
    • Physician Records: Pages 1-20 = $25.00
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Hospital Records: Pages 11-60 = $1.54/ page; Pages 61-400 = $0.76/ page; Pages 401+ = $0.41/ page.
    • Physician Records: Pages 21+ = $0.50/page
  • Reproduction Costs
    • Providers may charge additional reasonable fees for supplies and labor.
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $69.74 processing and retrieval for 10 pages of microforms.
    • pages 11+ = $1.54/ page. Fees for x-rays and imaging records $8.00/ copy.
    • Physician records have $15.00 affidavit fee.
  • Electronic Records
    • Hospital Records: $82.95.
    • Physician Records: Pages 1-500 = $25.00; Pages 500+ = $50.00
 

Utah

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $21.16
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-40 = $0.53/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 41+ = $0.32/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost plus sales tax
  • Electronic Records
    • For requests after July 18, 2018, electronic records are assessed at 50% of the paper records rates
 

Vermont

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • The larger fee of either a flat rate of $5.00 or $0.50/ page.
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • Reasonable fees for duplicating x-rays, imaging and other records maintained in non-paper format.
 

Virginia

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $10.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-50 = $0.50/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 51+ = $0.25/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $10.00 search fee and $1.00/ page for copies of microfilm or micrographic process.
  • Electronic Records
    • Search fee, $20.00; Pages 1-50 = $0.37/ page; Pages 51+ = $0.18/ page
 

Washington

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $26.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-30 = $1.17/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 31+ = $0.88/ page
 

West Virginia

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $20.00
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • All pages = $0.40/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $10.00 for certification
  • Electronic Records
    • $0.20/ page, capped at $150.00
 

Wisconsin

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes
  • Search Fee/ Labor Charge/ Processing Charge
    • $22.19
  • Copy Fees for First Pages
    • Pages 1-25 = $1.12/ page
  • Copy Fees for Additional Pages
    • Pages 26-50 = $0.84/ page
    • Pages 51-100 = $0.55/ page
    • Pages 101+ = $0.33/ page
  • Mailing Costs
    • Actual cost
  • Additional Fees and Costs
    • $1.65/ page for microfilm or microfiche. $11.07 per image for x-rays. Certification fee $8.87
  • Electronic Records
    • Pages 1-16 = $7.50
    • Pages 17+ = $0.45/ page
 

Wyoming

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes- defined as "a reasonable fee".
 

District of Columbia

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • Yes- defined as "a reasonable fee".
 

Puerto Rico

  • Limit on Fees Mandated by State Law
    • No